CNM President Receives Spirit of Bipartisanship Award from New Mexico First

May 7, 2013 -- New Mexico First, a non-partisan public policy organization, announced that CNM President Kathie Winograd will receive its Spirit of Bipartisanship Award for Excellence in Education Policy.
July 16, 2015


President Winograd will receive the award at the annual First Forum Lecture Series on June 21 in Albuquerque. The main program for the event will be a policy tribute to former U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman.

Five other individuals will receive Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards along with Dr. Winograd, which include:

Excellence in Legislative Policy – New Mexico Representative Larry Larranaga; New Mexico Senator Mary Kay Papen; and New Mexico Senator Phil Griego.

Good Government Award – Fred Nathan, Executive Director, Think New Mexico

Lifetime Achievement Award – Garrey Carruthers, Dean of the College of Business at New Mexico State University and the President-elect of NMSU.

“New Mexico is a state that has a long history of different people from very different backgrounds finding a way to work together to move the state forward,” said Gene Baca, selection committee chair for the Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards on the New Mexico First website. “This organization will recognize lawmakers and community leaders, who in this age of divisiveness, put the people of New Mexico first and work to find good solutions to the challenges we face.”

The tribute to Senator Bingaman will focus on issues he prioritized: energy, education and international competitiveness. The event will include a panel discussion with U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich, former U.S. Senator Pete V. Domenici, New Mexico Senator Cynthia Nava, Pat Vincent-Collawn of PNM and Tony Trujillo of Freeport-McMoRan. The event will be moderated by Sam Donaldson of ABC News.